The Last Week of NaNoWriMo 2013

I finally hit the 40,000 word mark last night. I’m still technically a little behind, but I’m still writing away! I know I won’t be anywhere near finished with my novel at 50,000 words. That doesn’t bother me at all. From what I’ve seen, most fantasy novels are anywhere from 80,000 to 150,000 words.

That’s what I’m aiming for. I can’t wait to have a full novel finished. I’m thinking of letting it sit for maybe a month and then going back and sculpting it into something worth reading. Who knows? Maybe I’ll even summon enough courage to submit it sometime next year. 🙂

NaNoWriMo has been such a learning experience. As a new writer, I’ve struggled with the discipline aspect of writing. I had this outrageous thought that writers were “inspired” all the time, and that’s why they’re able to write so much so quickly. I now know it doesn’t happen like that.

The only pretty, shiny, “romanticized” part of writing is the point at which a piece of writing has been published. What makes that happen is working hard everyday, stressing constantly over the juggling of details and weaving of various plots and sub-plots, and the hair-pulling worry over what he/she has created.

I’m so glad I decided to go ahead and join NaNaWriMo this year. I’m learning what it takes, and by golly, I know I can do this! Seriously though, EVERYONE should at least attempt it.

8 Comments

Filed under Life- Uncharted

8 responses to “The Last Week of NaNoWriMo 2013

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Update: Thankswriting Week | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Update: The Heat is on! | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  3. Pingback: It is just a podium — thoughts on a NaNo win. | Nina Kaytel

  4. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Update: Getting Down to the Wire… | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  5. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2013: What’s next? | The Kingmaker Saga by James Pearson

  6. Pingback: Every day you write, you are a writing winner! | Write on the World

  7. Pingback: WINNER! The best feeling in the world! NaNoWriMo2013 | Shawna Schaefer

  8. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Review | From the Desk of Kimberly Hill

Leave a Reply

