10,000 words- NaNoWriMo 2013

For those of you who haven’t heard, NaNoWriMo means National Novel Writing Month. Anyone can join for free at www.NaNoWriMo.org. This year was the first year I have ever heard of it, and that was due to www.Legendfire.com . I figured, why not? I haven’t tried it yet, and the worst thing that could happen is that I start writing a novel and don’t finish. The best thing, and what I’m still secretly praying for, would be for me to finish, on time, and edit, then re-edit, and, after an amount of time and numerous submissions, for it to be PUBLISHED! Yes, that is what I want out of NaNo this year, but my hopes are quiet. I know it isn’t likely for my first novel ever written to be published right away, but stranger things have happened, right?

So here I am, plugging away on day six and I hit a momentous mark, the 10,000 word mark. I can honestly say I have never written so much on one story in my entire life! When I looked down and saw that magical number at the bottom left hand corner of MS WORD, (10,020), I thought I was about to cry or laugh or maybe even both at the same time. It’s thrilling to know I am well on my way to finishing my first novel. This is a big deal for me.  I figure if I keep at this rate I will finish on time, barely. I need to step it up. I am determined to finish this.

This may sound cliché, but I honestly think NaNo has changed my life in a small way. It has returned my sense of determination and resolution. I no longer feel as though I will wilt beneath the pressure of a seemingly insurmountable obstacle. It may not be a glass ceiling, but it feels like I broke through some sort of glass barrier within my own mind, my own boundaries. I will survive and I will thrive!

I hear so many people say, “I want to do “blank” someday,” or maybe, “I wish I could ____,” but here I am walking confidently toward my dream of being a published author. NaNo has given me a new perspective; I know how much hard work it’s taking for my dream to become a reality, but it will definitely be worth it.

magicbookad.png

Leave a comment

Filed under Life- Uncharted, Writings

Leave a Reply

